A Peaceful Day at Bear Creek Farm: the 8 Hour Darkside Race, Moreland, GA (May 13, 2017)

The morning was overcast with a distinct promise of rain. The forecast had called for scattered showers and thunderstorms but we were lucky. There was a gentle rain for a few hours in the very early stages of this timed race, but the weather soon cleared and remained cloudy and overcast despite rising humidity in the afternoon.

Back when the Darkside 8 Hour was held on a track, I had sworn never to do the race again. Walking around and around on a quarter mile track nearly drove me bonkers. Then the race was moved to its present location at Bear Creek Farm and everything changed. Moreland is a quiet hamlet near Peachtree City, south of Atlanta, a serene and bucolic location. The course is a paved 1.02 mile loop that circles some residences, horse stables, dog kennels, and utility buildings. There are a few challenging but relatively minor hills. Racers move clockwise for the first four hours and run down those hills; once we change direction, however, those uphills are daunting, especially to my tired legs. Still, it was wonderful to be able to lift my eyes to look at the scenery and not have to concentrate watching my feet.

On Friday we drove to Peachtree City and then on to the farm to make sure we remembered the way. The last time I had done this race was several years ago and there had been a road detour. This time everything was clear. It took us about 20 minutes to return to Peachtree City where we checked in to a local Hampton Inn. We had a late lunch at Carrabba’s, a short walk from the hotel, and then retired to try and get some rest.

The race was to begin at 7 am and we were supposed to be on site by 6:30 to get our bibs. Because we like to there in plenty of time, we left the hotel at quarter to six and arrived at the ranch 15 minutes later. That allowed us lots of opportunity to greet new arrivals including Mellody, Scott, Deb, and Ron. This race is inexpensive, in part because all the munchies are provided by the registrants. Our contribution was two packages of peanut butter filled pretzels; others brought cookies, chips, trail mix, and pickles. With the water and Gatorade provided by the RD, we were ready. There was plenty to eat, far more than at a marathon or 50k.

The aid station is set up under a large covered pavilion with lots of tables and benches. There is really no need for a chair or tent but I brought a chair just in case and set that and my drop bag under the pavilion. We met our lap counters and lined up at the timing clock for an on-time start. I probably went out too fast because my first lap was at a 13+ minute pace and I knew I couldn’t maintain that speed for 8 hours. I was feeling good, however, after that difficult trail race last week so I just relaxed and enjoyed the day. After a few hours, the rain ceased and I slowed but overall it was a great day.
Since we were leaving for home after the race, Darcy checked out of the hotel by 11 and spent the rest of the day sitting under the pavilion and watching us go around lap after lap. I knew by noon that it would be hard if not impossible for me to achieve a 50k so I decided to do 27 laps and call it a day. At least it would count as an ultra and we could leave an hour before the race officially ended to make the 5 hour drive back.

There are many good things about this race:
• Low registration fee (only $40 plus munchies)
• Peaceful setting
• Friendly participants
• Low-key atmosphere
There is really nothing negative to say, although some would be disappointed that there are no shirts or medals. This was my 233 marathon/ultra and I have too many medals and shirts, so that was not a problem for me. My lap counter was not very supportive (in her defense, she also was tending to a baby) and I had to constantly get her attention as I passed by the timing clock. I am used to lap counters shouting out my name, cheering me on, and telling me my current lap so I was relieved when she handed her board of runners over to another more enthusiastic volunteer. But that was a minor complaint. Overall this is a very walker-friendly race and one I will undoubtedly do again.

Leave a Reply

