My Fiftieth Half: The Savannah Women’s Half Marathon – April 8, 2017 (Savannah, Georgia)

It was back to the historic town of Savannah for my first race in the 70 and up age group (itself a huge milestone for me) and my fiftieth half marathon. I can’t pretend I wasn’t excited, especially after my disappointment at last week’s cancelled race in San Antonio.

The logistics for this race couldn’t be easier. After driving to downtown Savannah and checking into the host hotel, the luxurious Hilton DeSoto, we picked up my race packet at the expo in one of the larger hotel ballrooms. The expo is mid-sized for a half marathon (most of the half marathons I’ve attended recently don’t even have an expo) with an emphasis on items of interest to women. There were booths selling jewelry, clothes, skincare and bath products, and food specialties like blended seasonings and flavored popcorn. Every year there is a gift item for participants and this year we were given a velour pouch with an adjustable bracelet and charm. Last year’s gift was a large zippered travel bag. The bag was certainly more useful, especially if, like me, you seldom wear jewelry, but the bracelet was better than another tee shirt, especially a polyester one.

After the expo, Darcy and I headed to the Moon River Brewhouse for a late lunch. We had tried earlier in the week to make reservations at the very popular brunch place, B. Matthew’s Eatery, but it was booked solid, so we decided to return to Moon River where we had enjoyed a very good meal last year. I had several lists of other purportedly excellent restaurants but we were on a tight budget this year so we opted for a known place that had reasonable prices. Economics was another reason why we decided to spend just one night in Savannah instead of our customary two nights.

For racers who miss the Friday afternoon packet pickup, there is an early morning opportunity from 6:15 to 7:15 am to get your bib. Both the half marathon and 5k begin at 7:30 sharp at Forsyth Park, a short walk from the Hilton and other downtown hotels. There are corrals with suggested pace times; these corrals are not monitored so the beginning of the races tend to be very congested, with many slower runners and walkers holding up faster paced participants, but by mile 2, everyone spreads out and shorter thereafter the 5k people head towards their finish line while those doing the half continue on the very flat but scenic course around the city and surrounding area.

The weather at the start was cool but not freezing. It soon warmed up to the mid-sixties with a cool breeze, perfect racing weather for me. The streets had occasional cracks in the pavement that might have easily become tripping hazards (for me) but I took care to walk carefully around them. There were several out-and-backs on the course, something I always like because it gives me a chance to high-five and cheer on some of the people behind me (and I am exceedingly grateful whenever there ARE people behind me).

For the most part, the course is very well-marked. It was only at the 12 mile mark that I began to wonder about the absence of some arrows pointing out some turns but was able to follow several runners in front of me to the finish line in Forsyth Park. I crossed the finish in 2:55 but couldn’t find the awards tent to see if I placed in my – NEW – age group. However, I did manage to find the beverage tent with mimosas and beer. The medal is attractive and sparkly; refreshments included a Publix shopping bag with bottled water, fruit, and muffins.

Darcy and I walked the short distance back to our hotel so we could pack and drive back home. For newcomers to Savannah, spending extra time exploring this attractive city is a good idea. In addition to the home of Juliette Gordon Low, founder of the Girl Scouts, there are many historic statues and places to visit and a plethora of breweries and restaurants (as long as you make a reservation beforehand). Savannah is definitely on my list of places to revisit.

The half marathon is highly recommended for walkers as well as runners.

 

4 thoughts on “My Fiftieth Half: The Savannah Women’s Half Marathon – April 8, 2017 (Savannah, Georgia)

  1. You AMAZE me!!!! Congratulations on half marathon # 50 . . . and what a great time that was. Nice work, friend!

  2. I’m so glad you enjoy reading about my adventures! you can definitely stay active, you are just a young ‘un. I did my first race, a half marathon, at age 59 so I know you can do it.

Leave a Reply

