Replay – A Stroll in Central Park, Cumming, GA (March 7, 2015)

Originally I was signed up for a 24 hour race in Savannah this weekend but it was unexpectedly canceled. Stroll turned out to be a wonderful substitute. Cumming is just north of Atlanta, an easy drive from north Florida, and the race is held in Central Park, a popular and well-utilized recreation area for the local population. Lia Knower is the race director and she puts on a great event – her volunteers, including a stalwart corps of dedicated lap counters, are terrific, and the regular aid station fare is highlighted with a pizza lunch. The course is a 1.03 paved loop on the perimeter of soccer and baseball fields. Lia stresses that the course is flat but, on the contrary, there are several definite inclines which are fun walking down but, since we change direction after 6 hours, not so enjoyable on the reverse stretch. I did like the fact that there are indoor restrooms – makes it just about the perfect race for me!

Since I had done this race last year, Darcy and I knew the location of the park, several good restaurants (Taco Mac and Cracker Barrel but there are more), and a good hotel, the Hampton Inn (although there are others close by as well) so we were all set. This was one of the very few times when I did not feel nervous before a race. I usually feel butterflies even if I’ve done the race before, but Stroll is so laid-back and relaxed that there was no pressure at all.

Packet pickup began at 6:15 am just before the race. We received a bib, tee shirt (short-sleeve blue cotton tee), and met our lap counters (thank you, Kristen and Ron!). The start line was a chalked line on the pavement and at 7:03 we were off. In addition to the 12 hour race, there is also a new 6 hour option that started at the same time and attracted quite a few runners and walkers. I haven’t seen results yet so I am not sure how many people did each event and how many miles they went, but by the end of the race I could tell from the mileage chart that I reached 43.26 miles. This was just one lap shy of my results last year. I will admit that I probably could have managed 1, maybe 2, more laps if I had tried a bit harder but my legs were sore and I was tired. I was happy to do 43+ miles and call it a day.

Six hour finishers receive a medal. Twelve hour racers get a wooden plaque and several weeks after the race, Lia mails out a sticker with each runner’s mileage on it. It was fun to see several of the runners from last year; all of the participants were friendly and supportive. This is definitely a plus for walkers as well as endurance runners. However, word is that the event will be in a different park next year (and the name will also change) but I am hopeful that the same positive attributes will be present in the new locale.

Leave a Reply

