Déjà Vu: The Tallahassee Half Marathon – February 2, 2014

Just a brief report on the Tallahassee half marathon, a race I do every year with my oldest son. The race itself is not much to brag about. I’ve mentioned in previous reviews how this race concentrates on providing runners with a very boring but fast and flat course while managing to avoid all the attractive and scenic sites in Tallahassee. But that’s my personal take. The full marathon has been around for 40 years and the half marathon for almost as long so the Gulf Winds Track Club must be doing something right. This year the number of participants for both races was exceptionally high, perhaps in part because the full marathon was celebrating its 40th year but also because of the recent write-up in Marathon & Beyond magazine.

The main reason I show up year after year is so I can have some one-on-one time with my son. Although he finishes well ahead of me, I enjoy the time we have together before and after the race itself. That’s worth quite a bit to me. Besides, half marathons are relaxing and fun to do. Food is plentiful at the finish line and the day is still young, with lots of time to do other things besides shower and nap. It’s also enjoyable to see a lot of my racing friends at this race – Mellody, Deb, Pam, Phil, Ruth – as well as many new ones that I met on the course. I missed seeing my Canadian friends Sheila and Wendell – they were probably lined up ahead of me in the informal corrals.

There were no surprises in this race. The weather was cool but not cold and the light drizzle in the morning hours was refreshing. It did get slightly humid as the day wore on but nothing intolerable. There were few spectators but the volunteers and police were excellent as usual. The groundhog medal was fitting for a race held on Groundhog Day. I finished in 2:46:22, my usual time (and a good 10 minutes behind my son).

With a 6 hour time limit for the full marathon, this race is not for slower walkers, but the half is a good choice for a late winter race.

Leave a Reply

